SPARTA, KY - JUNE 30: Brad Keselowski, driver of the #2 Miller Lite Dodge, celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Quaker State 400 at Kentucky Speedway on June 30, 2012 in Sparta, Kentucky. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

NASCAR At Kentucky: Brian Keselowski Wins The Quaker State 400

Brian Keselowski built a big lead and then saved just enough gas to take the green flag at the Quaker State 400 at Kentucky Speedway.

  • Live
4 Total Updates since June 29, 2012
  • Updates 3
  • Articles 1
  • All Updates 4

NASCAR At Kentucky: Brad Keselowski Claims Third Win Of Season

Brad Keselowski saved just enough fuel at the end to win the Quaker State 400 and capture his series-best third win of the season in the process. Keselowski drove his backup car to victory lane and all but assured himself a spot in the chase at the end of the season.

Keselowski was forced into his backup car after he was involved in a wreck with Juan Pablo Montoya during Friday's first practice session. Kasey Kahne finished second and was followed by Denny Hamlin and Dale Earnhardt Jr. Jeff Gordon came in fifth and was followed by Jimmie Johnson which gave Hendrik Motorsports four of the top six positions in the race.

Kyle Busch led 116 laps of the race before a broken shock took him out of contention. Busch went on to finish 10th but looked to have the strongest car at least through the early portions of the race.

Here is a look at the full results from Saturday night's Quaker State 400 from Kentucky Speedway:

1. Brad Keselowski
2. Kasey Kahne
3. Denny Hamlin
4. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
5. Jeff Gordon
6. Jimmie Johnson
7. Matt Kenseth
8. Martin Truex Jr.
9. AJ Allmendinger
10. Kyle Busch
11. Kevin Harvick
12. Paul Menard
13. Marcos Ambrose
14. Juan Pablo Montoya
15. Jamie McMurray
16. Clint Bowyer
17. Travis Kvapil
18. Casey Mears
19. Kurt Busch
20. Carl Edwards
21. Greg Biffle
22. Joey Logano
23. David Reutimann
24. Jeff Burton
25. Landon Cassill
26. Aric Almirola
27. Bobby Labonte
28. David Gilliland
29. David Ragan
30. Michael Waltrip
31. Ken Schrader
32. Tony Stewart
33. Regan Smith
34. Ryan Newman
35. Dave Blaney
36. David Stremme
37. Josh Wise
38. Michael McDowell
39. Scott Speed
40. Joe Nemechek
41. Stephen Leicht
42. Mike Bliss
43. Scott Riggs

For the latest NASCAR news, be sure to check out NASCAR Ranting and Raving as well as SB Nation's NASCAR hub.


NASCAR At Kentucky 2012: Quaker State 400 TV Schedule, Start Time And More

Once again, NASCAR returns to the Saturday night spotlight. The Quaker State 400 is slated to begin Saturday night, at 7:37 p.m. ET at Kentucky Speedway.

Televised coverage of the Quaker State 400 can be found on TNT. If you're a NASCAR fan and you're unable to get to a television tonight, don't fret -- you can watch the race online.

Pole winner Jimmie Johnson will aptly start first in the race on Saturday night. Courtesy of Jeff Gluck over at SB Nation's NASCAR hub, here's tonight's starting lineup for the Quaker State 400.

  1. Jimmie Johnson
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Denny Hamlin
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Ryan Newman
  6. Clint Bowyer
  7. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  8. Brad Keselowski
  9. Jeff Gordon
  10. Martin Truex Jr.
  11. Greg Biffle
  12. Marcos Ambrose
  13. Aric Almirola
  14. Kurt Busch
  15. Paul Menard
  16. AJ Allmendinger
  17. Jamie McMurray
  18. Joey Logano
  19. Kasey Kahne
  20. Matt Kenseth
  21. Casey Mears
  22. Tony Stewart
  23. Landon Cassill
  24. Scott Speed
  25. Carl Edwards
  26. Regan Smith
  27. Joe Nemechek
  28. Bobby Labonte
  29. Jeff Burton
  30. Josh Wise
  31. Juan Pablo Montoya
  32. David Stremme
  33. David Ragan
  34. Travis Kvapil
  35. Michael McDowell
  36. Scott Riggs
  37. Mike Bliss
  38. David Reutimann
  39. Michael Waltrip
  40. David Gilliland
  41. Ken Schrader
  42. Dave Blaney
  43. Stephen Leicht
For the latest NASCAR news, be sure to check out SB Nation's NASCAR hub.

NASCAR At Kentucky Qualifying: Jimmie Johnson Takes Quaker State 400 Pole

For the first time since 2010 at Dover, Jimmie Johnson's No. 48 Chevrolet will lead the field to the green flag in a Sprint Cup Series race.

The five-time champ toured the Kentucky Speedway in 29.70 seconds and will start the second-annual Quaker State 400 pole. Defending race champion Kyle Busch qualified second, six tenths off Johnson's time, while Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, and Ryan Newman round out the top-five.

Clint Bowyer, who won last week in Sonoma, will start sixth, followed by Dale Earnhardt Jr., Brad Keselowski, Jeff Gordon, and Martin Truex Jr.

Point leader Matt Kenseth, in his first qualifying effort since announcing he would be leaving Roush-Fenway Racing at season's end, was 20th. Defending series champion Tony Stewart was 22nd, while runner up Carl Edwards was 25th.

Unadilla's David Ragan was 33rd fastest in his Front Row Motorsports Ford.

Failing to qualify for the race were J.J. Yeley and Mike Skinner.


NASCAR At Kentucky: Sprint Cup Racing Heads To The Bluegrass State For Second Time

NASCAR makes its second trip to the Kentucky Speedway for Saturday's Quaker State 400. Kyle Busch took the inaugural race at the Sparta, KY race track last year.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SB Nation Atlanta

You must be a member of SB Nation Atlanta to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Atlanta. You should read them.

Join SB Nation Atlanta

You must be a member of SB Nation Atlanta to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Atlanta. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.