clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 NFL Pro Bowl Rosters Announced Tonight; Roddy White, Tony Gonzalez Are In, Who Else?

New, 1 comment

The NFL Network will announce the league's 2011 Pro Bowl announcers tonight at 7. We already know Atlanta Falcons WR Roddy White and TE Tony Gonzalez are the NFC's highest vote-getters at their positions and that QB Matt Ryan isn't going to make the cut unless Philadelphia Eagles QB Michael Vick, New Orleans Saints QB Drew Brees, or Green Bay Packers QB Aaron Rodgers have to skip the game.

Which other Falcons deserve consideration?

Offense: Halfback Michael Turner is a lock, as he's currently fifth in the league and first in the NFC in rushing yardage. He's only 13th in yards from scrimmage, which hurts his national profile, but with only one fumble this year and as the engine of the NFC's highest-ranked team, pencil in the Burner. At least one offensive lineman should make it, as this team gives up very few sacks, penalties, and runs for lost yardage, but you never know.

Defense: Defensive end John Abraham is another sure thing, ranking second in the NFL in sacks. Defensive tackle Jonathan Babineaux is a long shot with three sacks and fewer tackles than usual, due to the swift rotation Atlanta has used this year. Linebacker Curtis Lofton could sneak in, as he ranks sixth in the NFC in tackles. And cornerback Brent Grimes is among NFC interception leaders, with five, and has given up fewer yards per attempt on his side of the field than has Dunta Robinson.

Special teams: I'd also recommend kick returner Eric Weems, who leads the NFC in average yards per return and had a crucial touchdown against Tampa Bay. And kicker Matt Bryant has the NFC's best field goal percentage among kickers who've attempted more than 20 field goals, including several game-winners.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.