clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL All-Star Voting: Starters Released; No Thrashers In The Line Up... Yet.

The six starters for the 2011 All-Star game in Carolina have been released, and they’re unique to say the least. Keep in mind that this year’s ASG is a break from tradition. To spice up the format, the top vote getters at each “position” (three forwards, two defensemen, and a goalie) are the starters, and then two as yet un-announced captains will fill out the teams.


This season’s starters are Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins), Evgeny Malkin (PIT), Jonathan Toews (Chicago Blackhawks), Chris Letang (PIT), Duncan Keith (CHI), and Marc-Andre Fleury (PIT). That’s three centers starting, and the goalie who has the 5th best GAA and 12th best save percentage in the league.


Top scoring defenseman Dustin Byfuglien and his partner Tobias Enstrom were both on the ballot, but didn’t get the votes to crack the lineup. Goalie Ondrej Pavelec wasn’t on the ballot, but owns the second best SV% and third best GAA in the league. Will any of them be picked by the captains a la playground kickball? You have to wait until Jan. 28 to find out.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.