clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 College Football Hall Of Fame Ballot: Joe Hamilton, Jake Scott Headline Peach State Players

Joe Hamilton of the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets makes his first appearance on a College Football Hall of Fame ballot this year, joining Georgia Bulldogs greats Jake Scott, Matt Stinchcomb, and Scott Woerner. Ivan Maisel likes Hamilton's chances, while Dawg Sports' Kyle King last year voted for all three Dawgs to make it in.

Hamilton was the 1999 Heisman Trophy runner-up, Scott is Georgia's all-time interceptions leader, Stinchcomb was a two-time All-American, and Woerner made the interception that sealed Georgia's 1980 national title.

According to my one quick count through, 14 players from current SEC schools appear on the ballot, along with seven players from schools in the ACC at the moment. I have no interest in counting them again, though you're welcome to give it a shot.

Florida's Carlos Alvarez, N.C. State's Ted Brown, Arkansas' Brandon Burlsworth and Leotis Harris, Alabama's Marty Lyons and Derrick Thomas, and Virginia's Anthony Poindexter are the other new SEC or ACC additions to the list. Last year's induction class saw four players and one coach from Southeastern schools enshrined.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.