clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 NCAA Baseball Tournament Bracketology: Georgia Tech, UGA, GSU Likely In Atlanta Region

College baseball is now two rounds from Omaha. The 2011 NCAA regional round will be announced May 30, with the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets among the eight southeastern schools to earn hosting rights. That means half of the four-team, double-elimination regions, which begin play June 3, will be hosted by either ACC or SEC squads. Winners from each region will advance to one-on-one Super Regionals series, with the College World Series following.

Joining Atlanta: Clemson (Clemson Tigers), Gainesville (Florida Gators), Tallahassee (Florida St. Seminoles), Chapel Hill (North Carolina Tar Heels), Columbia (South Carolina Gamecocks), Nashville (Vanderbilt Commodores) and Charlottesvile (Virginia Cavaliers). Austin (Texas Longhorns), College Station (Texas A&M Aggies), Corvallis (Oregon St. Beavers), Fort Worth (TCU Horned Frogs), Fullerton (Cal State-Fullerton), Houston (Rice Owls), Los Angeles (UCLA Bruins) and Tempe (Arizona St. Sun Devils) also earned honors.

The Georgia Bulldogs, who nearly reached the SEC title game, and Georgia Southern Eagles, SoCon champs, are expected to join that Atlanta region, leaving one spot for an out-of-towner. College baseball bracketologist (they are rare!) Jeremy Mills has a complete look at his projected field after conference championship Sunday.

For more college baseball, browse SB Nation's list of college blogs. For more SEC, join Team Speed Kills. For more Georgia Tech, join From The Rumble Seat, and for more UGA, join Dawg Sports.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.