clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Aaron Murray, Brandon Boykin Make Maxwell, Bednarik Award Watch Lists

Time again for college football awards dealers to come up with lists of players they plan to monitor for the upcoming season. They will, of course, monitor exactly zero players besides the ones on these lists, making this the most important thing to happen to college football between now and next year's award watch list revelations.

A pair of Georgia Bulldogs players are up for prestigious awards, should they play their entire seasons well enough to earn them, but at least they're being watched: QB Aaron Murray is on the Maxwell Award watch list, and CB Brandon Boykin is on the Bednarik Award list.

The Maxwell is given to the nation's top player and not included in the Heisman Trophy grab bag as commonly thought. The Bednarik goes to the best defender in the country, a player who is apparently not ever eligible to receive the Heisman itself.

For more Georgia sports, visit Dawg Sports.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.