clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR at Watkins Glen: Kyle Busch Snares Heluva Good at The Glen Pole

Kyle Busch was the final car to qualify thanks to his fastest practice speed Friday, and he backed it up by grabbing the pole for Sunday's Heluva Good! at the Glen. It is his second pole at Watkins Glen International; his first came courtesy of rain showers in 2008. He went on to win the race.

Busch's lap - the 15th and, obviously, the final lap to break the track's previous record - spoiled what would have been an all-Richard Petty Motorsports front row. As it is, A.J. Allmendinger will roll off from the second position, while teammate and Australian road racing ace Marcos Ambrose starts third. Jimmie Johnson starts fourth, with defending race champion Juan Pablo Montoya fifth. Five-time Watkins Glen winner Tony Stewart will start seventh.

Point leader Carl Edwards will start eighth.

There were 46 drivers attempting the race. The three who will not start tomorrow's event are Dave Blaney and road course "ringers" Brian SImo and P.J. Jones. The ringers who made the show were

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.