clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Watkins Glen Results: Marcos Ambrose Gets First-Career Win

Marcos Ambrose is a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series winner.

The native of Launceston, Tasmania took the lead on the first lap of a green-white checker and was in front when the yellow flag flew during a carnage-filled final lap. David Reutimann's Toyota flipped wildly in between turns one and two after being collected by David Ragan, who was turned by Boris Said. Both Ragan and Reutimann climbed from their cars after the second horrifying accident of the race. Denny Hamlin walked away from a vicious crash in turn one on lap 66.

Later in the same lap, Tony Stewart crashed in the inter-loop.

Brad Keselowski finished second, followed by Kyle Busch, Martin Truex Jr., and Joey Logano.

Ambrose had come close before in the Sprint Cup Series. He gave away a sure win at Sonoma in June 2010 when he stalled his car under caution, gift-wrapping the win to Jimmie Johnson. He ran second to Stewart in 2009 and was third in both 2008 and 2010. He had won the Nationwide race each of the past three years, as well.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.