clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Pro Bowl rosters: Peyton Manning, Adrian Peterson highlight teams

New, 1 comment

Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning and Vikings running back Adrian Peterson highlight their respective Pro Bowl rosters. The Texans will be sending the most players to Hawaii with eight.

Dustin Bradford

Peyton Manning and Adrian Peterson both entered the 2012 season coming off debilitating injuries, but that did not stop either player from putting forth magnificent campaigns. Thanks to their almost improbable comebacks, both players will be highlighting their respective conferences Pro Bowl rosters.

Manning, who has led the Denver Broncos to a 12-3 record after undergoing neck surgery last year, was the top vote-getter in the NFL, edging out New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady. It is Manning's 12th Pro Bowl selection and Brady's eighth.

Peterson has led the Minnesota Vikings to the brink of the playoffs after tearing his ACL late last season. The running back needs 208 yards in Week 17 against the Green Bay Packers to break Eric Dickerson's all-time rushing record.

Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers and Detroit Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson join Peterson in highlighting the NFC roster. Washington Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III is one of two rookies to make the Pro Bowl, along with Vikings kicker Blair Walsh.

The San Francisco 49ers have the most Pro Bowl selections with nine. Six of those players are on the defensive side of the ball, including Aldon Smith and Patrick Willis. The Houston Texans have the second-most Pro Bowlers with eight. Matt Schaub is the third quarterback on the AFC roster behind Brady and Manning, while running back Arian Foster will make his first Pro Bowl start.

For the Atlanta Falcons, Matt Ryan, Julio Jones and Tony Gonzalez all made the team. Gonzalez is the only one out of the three to get a starting nod.

Be sure to check out the full NFC and AFC rosters.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.