clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 SEC Baseball Tournament: Ole Miss Shuts Shuts Out Arkansas 2-0

The Ole Miss Rebels bounced back from a loss on Tuesday to eliminate Arkansas with a 2-0 shutout. Mike Mayers and Brett Huber combined for the complete game while only allowing six hits to the Razorbacks.

Alex Yarbrough banged out three hits for the Rebels while Zach Kirksey and Orvis Sikes drove in the only two runs of the game. Arkansas' Brian Anderson had two hits for the Razorbacks.

Mayers earns the win going seven innings while allowing five hits and no runs. He struck out eight while walking no one. Huber picks up his 10th save of the season with two innings of scoreless relief. DJ Baxendale takes the loss after allowing four hits and one run in six innings of work.

Ole Miss advances where they will play the loser of the Mississippi State-LSU matchup from Tuesday.

For more on this game be sure to check out Red Cup Rebellion and Arkansas Expats.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.