clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Peachtree Road Race: Mamitu Daska Wins Women's Open Division

The 2012 Peachtree Road Race is underway and Mamitu Daska is your women's open champ after completing the 6.2 mile course in 32 minutes, 21 seconds.

Lineth Chipkurui finished in second place and was followed by Risper Gesabwa finished third. Last year's race winner Werknesh Kidane did not return to the event this year to defend her title.

This was the first time that the Women's race followed the wheelchair event and began before the men's race. Runners were treated to good weather this morning with temperatures in the mid 70s and not a lot of humidity. After last week's heat wave that blanketed Atlanta and sent temperatures into triple digets today's relief is welcomed. To combat the heat race officials have water stations set up at every mile marker of the race.

For more on running check out SB Nation's running blog Stride Nation.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.