clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Peachtree Road Race 2012: Peter Kirui Is Men's Open Winner

Peter Kirui of Kenya is the men's open winner of the 2012 Peacthree Road Race with a time of 27 minutes, 36 seconds. Kirui's time is the fourth-fastest in Peachtree Road Race history and comes in his first ever Peachtree Road Race win.

Mamituu Daska took home first place in the women's open division earlier this morning. Aaron Gordian won the men's wheelchair race while Tatyana McFadden took home her third straight win in the women's wheelchair division.

The completion of the open division proceeds the start of the many waves of amateur racers. Some 60,000 professional and amateur runners entered this year's Peachtree Road Race and will try to complete the 6.2 mile course from Lenox Square down through mid-town and finishing up at Piedmont Park.

For more on running check out SB Nation's running blog Stride Nation and for more on the Peachtree Road Race check out SB Nation Atlanta.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.