clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Finger Lakes 335 Results: Marcos Ambrose Wins In Thriller For The Ages

Kyle Busch led taking the white flag at Watkins Glen, but after his Toyota got in oil laid down by Bobby Labonte, Brad Keselowski and Marcos Ambrose tracked him down. Keselowski spun Busch in the esses, sending the No. 18 Toyota into the guardrail.

Keselowski and Ambrose then proceeded to have a wild final lap duel, sliding around the 2.45-mile circuit. Both cars were sideways, cutting through grass, and jumping through curbs. Ultimately, Keselowski slid last, exiting the final turn, and Ambrose won the Finger Lakes 335 for his second-career win and his second-straight victory at Watkins Glen.

Keselowski wound up second, followed by Jimmie Johnson, Clint Bowyer, and Sam Hornish Jr. Greg Biffle finished sixth. Busch recovered to finish seventh, while Matt Kenseth, Regan Smith, and Martin Truex Jr. completed the top-10.

Johnson takes the point lead by a single marker after a late spin by Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Jeff Gordon, in the top-10 on the last lap, spun exiting the final corner and backed into the wall similar to an incident by Tony Stewart earlier in the race. Gordon wound up 21st.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.