clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Michigan: Mark Martin Wins Pole, Dale Earnhardt Jr. And Jimmie Johnson To The Back

Mark Martin was able to secure his fourth pole for Sunday's NASCAR race at Michigan as Martin posted a lap of 199.706 mph on Friday at Michigan International Speedway. Dale Earnhardt, Jr. will have to move to the back of the pack as his crash in Saturday's practice will force him to the 43rd position. Hendrick Motorsports was dealt another blow on Saturday as Jimmie Johnson's team made an unapproved engine change and the No. 48 will have to drop to the rear of the field instead of starting third.

Here's the updated starting lineup for Sunday's NASCAR race at Michigan International Speedway:

Mark Martin
Carl Edwards
Matt Kenseth
Kasey Kahne
Trevor Bayne
Martin Truex Jr.
Marcos Ambrose
Landon Cassill
Paul Menard
Jeff Gordon
Clint Bowyer
Greg Biffle
Tony Stewart
Ryan Newman
Joey Logano
Parker Kligerman
Regan Smith
Brad Keselowski
Kevin Harvick
Denny Hamlin
Kyle Busch
Jamie McMurray
Juan Pablo Montoya
Kurt Busch
Reed Sorenson
Bobby Labonte
Casey Mears
Travis Kvapil
David Stremme
Jeff Burton
Jason Leffler
Josh Wise
Joe Nemechek
David Gilliland
David Ragan
Scott Riggs
David Reutimann
TJ Bell
Aric Almirola
Dave Blaney
Mike Skinner
Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Jimmie Johnson

DNQ: Stephen Leicht, JJ Yeley.

Stick with this StoryStream for more on the NASCAR Sprint Cup heading in to Michigan International Speedway. For all things NASCAR, check out SB Nation's NASCAR hub.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.