clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Ryder Cup, Team Europe: Jose Maria Olazabal leads 12 players to face Team USA

Team Europe is ready for their chance to win their second straight Ryder Cup and fifth since 2002.

Andrew Redington - Getty Images

Ryder Cup captain of Team Europe Jose Maria Olazabal has his roster of 12, including himself, ready to face Team USA at Medinah Country Club, located outside Chicago. Only one competitor on his team has not participated in the Ryder Cup previously.

Team Europe won the last Ryder Cup in 2010 and has won four of the last five Ryder Cups dating back to 2002. The team also has three of the top five golfers in the world according to the official world golf rankings. Rory McIlroy, Luke Donald and Justin Rose have five Ryder Cup matches between them.

Nicolas Colsaerts makes his Ryder Cup debut as one of the two captain's picks along with Ian Poulter. Lee Westwood has been in seven Ryder Cup matches and Sergio Garcia has been in five.

Other golfers on Team Europe include Paul Lawrie, Graeme McDowell, Francesco Molinari, Peter Hanson and Martin Kaymer. The Ryder Cup will be televised on ESPN starting Friday at 8 a.m.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.