clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Dover 2012: Denny Hamlin takes poll for AAA 400

Denny Hamlin grabs the poll position for Sunday's running of the AAA 400

Todd Warshaw - Getty Images for NASCAR

Denny Hamlin historically hasn't turned in his best performance at Dover but he was good enough on Saturday to capture the pole position for Sunday's AAA 400. The pole is Hamlin's third of the season which also ties his career high. After his run, Hamlin talked about the importance of track position at the Monster Mile:

"Track position is second to none here, and we're going to need that for tuning our car," Hamlin said. "We know what we've got now. Now we've just got to execute and make sure we have a flawless day on Sunday."

Clint Bowyer qualified second and was followed by Martin Truex Jr. Sam Hornish and Kyle Busch round out the top five. Jeff Gordon starts seventh while perennial favorite Jimmy Johnson qualified 11th. Tony Stewart and Dale Earnhardt Jr. will start further back in the field at 24th and 25th respectively.

Here is a look at the full results from today's qualifying session:

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Clint Bowyer
  3. Martin Truex Jr.
  4. Sam Hornish Jr.
  5. Kyle Busch
  6. Greg Biffle
  7. Jeff Gordon
  8. Ryan Newman
  9. Kasey Kahne
  10. Brad Keselowski
  11. Jimmie Johnson
  12. Matt Kenseth
  13. Kevin Harvick
  14. Joey Logano
  15. Carl Edwards
  16. Bobby Labonte
  17. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  18. Regan Smith
  19. Paul Menard
  20. Jamie McMurray
  21. Aric Almirola
  22. Landon Cassill
  23. Josh Wise
  24. Tony Stewart
  25. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  26. Mark Martin
  27. Marcos Ambrose
  28. Kurt Busch
  29. Reed Sorenson
  30. Casey Mears
  31. David Ragan
  32. Michael McDowell
  33. Travis Kvapil
  34. Scott Speed
  35. Juan Pablo Montoya
  36. Scott Riggs
  37. Joe Nemechek
  38. Danica Patrick
  39. Jeff Burton
  40. JJ Yeley
  41. T.J. Bell
  42. David Gilliland
  43. Dave Blaney

DNQ: David Stremme, Mike Bliss, Jason Leffler, Cole Whitt, Kelly Bires.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.