clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA Slam Dunk Contest 2013: Participants, start time, TV schedule and more

East faces West in the 2013 version of the Slam Dunk Contest, the headlining event of the NBA's All-Star Saturday night.

Mike Ehrmann

No matter what, the Slam Dunk Contest on Saturday night of the NBA All-Star Weekend festivities remains the most-anticipated event. The 2013 edition features an added conference-against-conference wrinkle, and the field could provide some fireworks.

After two rounds of dunking from the event's six participants, the championship round will pit the highest score from the Eastern Conference against the Western Conference's high-scorer. The champion will be determined in-part by fan votes on various social media platforms.

SB Nation's complete coverage of the 2013 NBA All-Star Game

From the Western Conference, 2012 Slam Dunk champion Jeremy Evans of the Utah Jazz will be back to defend his crown, along with point guard Eric Bledsoe of the Los Angeles Clippers and Kenneth Faried from the Denver Nuggets. The Eastern Conference will be represented by James White of the New York Knicks, Terrence Ross of the Toronto Raptors and Gerald Green from the Indiana Pacers.

The dunks start getting thrown down at about 8:30 p.m. ET on Saturday as the concluding contest of four overall events for the night. Action from the Toyota Center in Houston will be televised on TNT.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.