clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Lightning, Bruins Move Past Penguins And Canadiens; Second Round Begins Tonight

Another overtime winner – by first time playoff hero Nathan Horton – helped move the Boston Bruins past the Montreal Canadiens in seven games to make the Conference semi-finals. In the other game last night, Tampa Bay Lightning goaltender Dwayne Roloson stopped 36 shots en route to a 1-0 shutout of the Pittsburgh Penguins. Both teams that progressed staged impressive comebacks: the Bruins were down 2-0 and very nearly 3-0 to start their series, and the Lightning were down 3-1 to the initially dominant Penguins to storm back and win the last three games of the series.

The second round begins tonight with a match-up between the Vancouver Canucks and Nashville Predators. What time? Schedule for the second round, you ask? Boom.

Vancouver Canucks (1) vs. Nashville Predators (5)
Thursday, April 28 at Vancouver, 9:00 p.m. CBC, VERSUS
Saturday, April 30 at Vancouver, 9:00 p.m. CBC, VERSUS
Tuesday, May 3 at Nashville, TBD CBC, VERSUS
Thursday, May 5 at Nashville, TBD CBC, VERSUS
*Saturday, May 7 at Vancouver, 8:00 p.m. CBC, VERSUS
*Monday, May 9 at Nashville, TBD CBC, VERSUS
*Wednesday, May 11 at Vancouver, TBD CBC, VERSUS

Washington Capitals (1) vs. Tampa Bay Lightning (5)

Friday, April 29 at Washington, 7:00 p.m. VERSUS, TSN
Sunday, May 1 at Washington, 7:00 p.m. VERSUS, CBC
Tuesday, May 3 at Tampa Bay, TBD VERSUS, TSN
Wednesday, May 4 at Tampa Bay, 7:00 p.m. TSN
*Saturday, May 7 at Washington, 12:30 p.m. NBC, TSN
*Monday, May 9 at Tampa Bay, TBD VERSUS, TSN
*Wednesday, May 11 at Washington, TBD VERSUS, TSN

San Jose Sharks (2) vs. Detroit Red Wings (3)
Friday, April 29 at San Jose, 10:00 p.m. VERSUS, TSN
Sunday, May 1 at San Jose, 3:00 p.m. NBC, TSN
Wednesday, May 4 at Detroit, 8:00 p.m. VERSUS (JIP), TSN
Friday, May 6 at Detroit, 7:00 p.m. VERSUS, TSN
*Sunday, May 8 at San Jose, 8:00 p.m. VERSUS, TSN
*Tuesday, May 10 at Detroit, TBD VERSUS, TSN
*Thursday, May 12 at San Jose, TBD VERSUS, TSN

Philadelphia Flyers (2) vs. Boston Bruins (3)
Saturday, April 30 at Philadelphia, 3:00 p.m. NBC, CBC
Monday, May 2 at Philadelphia, 7:30 p.m. VERSUS, TSN
Wednesday, May 4 at Boston, 7:00 p.m. VERSUS, CBC
Friday, May 6 at Boston, 8:00 p.m. VERSUS (JIP), CBC
*Sunday, May 8 at Philadelphia, 3:00 p.m. NBC, CBC
*Tuesday, May 10 at Boston, TBD VERSUS, CBC
*Thursday, May 12 at Philadelphia, TBD VERSUS, CBC

*if necessary

Predictions and round by round analysis coming up here in a jiffy. Stay tuned.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.