clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jason Heyward wins Fielding Bible Award

The Braves' third-year outfielder earned the award for the first time.

Mike Zarrilli

Atlanta Braves right fielder Jason Heyward was one of six first-time winners of a Fielding Bible Award, announced Thursday by ACTA Sports.

Heyward earned 96 points to edge Oakland's Josh Reddick:

The youth movement continued in right field with first-time winner Jason Heyward. Heyward secured 96 points to top Josh Reddick, who had 84. Reddick actually saved more runs defensively for his team than did Heyward, 22 runs saved to 20, but Heyward's excellent range and his third straight season of great defensive play earned him a well-deserved award.

Heyward joined New York Yankees first baseman Mark Teixeira, Chicago Cubs second baseman Darwin Barney, Seattle Mariners shortstop Brendan Ryan, Kansas City Royals left fielder Alex Gordon and Los Angeles Angels center fielder Mike Trout as a first-time recipient.

St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina, Miami Marlins pitcher Mark Buehrle and Texas Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre were repeat winners this season.

Heyward, 22, appeared in 158 games for the Braves this season. It was his third season in the big leagues since debuting as a 20 year old in 2010.

According to Fan Graphs, Heyward racked up a 22.9 UZR in right field this season. Reddick (17.7), Ichiro Suzuki (12.7) and Torii Hunter (10.4) checked in behind Heyward in UZR ranking this season.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.