clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jason Heyward wins 2012 MLB Gold Glove Award

Atlanta Braves right fielder Jason Heyward won a 2012 Gold Glove Award for his defensive performance this past season.

Daniel Shirey

Atlanta Braves outfielder Jason Heyward won a 2012 Gold Glove Award for National League right fielders on Tuesday. Heyward is the first Brave to win a Gold Glove since 2007, when both Andruw Jones and Jeff Francoeur won the award.

Heyward had already won the Fielding Bible Award for the best right fielder in the league and his Gold Glove was no surprise. He tied Hunter Pence for the NL lead in outfield assists with 11. Heyward also finished with the third-best fielding percentage of NL right fielders, only committing five errors on the season. Braves third-base coach Brian Snitker said Heyward was so clearly the best defensive right fielder in the league that he'd boycott voting in the future if Heyward didn't win the award.

Braves left fielder Martin Prado, center fielder Michael Bourn, and first baseman Freddie Freeman were all finalists, but none of them won the Gold Glove this year. Carlos Gonzalez of Colorado won in left field, Pittsburgh's Andrew McCutchen won in center, and Washington first baseman Adam LaRoche won the award for first.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.