clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SEC Bowl Schedule: Arkansas Drawing Ohio State In The Sugar Bowl

SB Nation Detroit passes along an interesting finding from the Sugar Bowl’s website: promotional images featuring the logos of the Arkansas Razorbacks and Ohio St. Buckeyes, complete with the Sugar Bowl’s 2011 logo:

Unless the Sugar has a whole set of these ready to go at the official announcement, we can pretty much chalk this one up to hardy internet sleuthing. This matchup was expected anyway, as the Wisconsin Badgers are already committed and Ohio State is a bigger name than the Michigan St. Spartans.

This is a matchup of hyped (and immense) star quarterbacks. Arkansas is 10-2, with the nation’s third-best passing attack led by Ryan Mallett. 11-1 Ohio State is quarterbacked by Terrelle Pryor.

Arkansas has appeared in five Sugar Bowls, most recently a loss to the Alabama Crimson Tide in 1980. Ohio State has appeared three times, beating the Texas A&M Aggies in 1999. This year’s edition is set for Jan. 4 at 8:30 in New Orleans.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.