clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Phil Steele's 2011 Preseason All-SEC Team Approves Of UGA Offense, Special Teams

College football information jampacker Phil Steele has finally (FINALLY) released his 2011 preseason all-SEC team. Steele has high hopes for the Georgia Bulldogs offense and special teams, with the five Georgia Bulldogs players on its first team including three offensive players and the entire kicking game. QB Aaron Murray, TE Orson Charles and OT Cordy Glenn take the honors, along with punter Drew Butler and kicker Blair Walsh.

Five first-teamers ties UGA for second in the conference with the Arkansas Razorbacks and behind only the Alabama Crimson Tide, but you'll note none of those five plays defense. No second-teamers, either. Problem?

In fact, center Ben Jones is the only Dawg to make the second team, while UGA at least dominates the third-team defense. DT DeAngelo Tyson, LB Christian Robinson, CB Brandon Boykin and safety Bacarri Rambo appear, as does fourth-team LB Cornelius Washington.

Boykin also makes third-team kick returner, an interesting distinction for a player who could set records at the position this season. Punt returner Branden Smith makes second-team, revealing high expectations overall for UGA special teams. One of the newest Dawgs, RB Isaiah Crowell, makes the fourth team, as does WR Tavarres King.

For more UGA sports, join Dawg Sports.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.