clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USC Officially Vacates 2004 BCS Title; No Football Teams Were Good That Year Anyway

The USC Trojans have finally followed Reggie Bush's lead and handed over their 2004 BCS National Championship, meaning that year's title belt will move along to ... nobody! The Auburn Tigers had perhaps the best claim of any snubbed team that year, finishing No. 2 after trailing the Oklahoma Sooners all season for no particular good reason.

The '04 Tigers barreled their way through the SEC, winning the conference's title game over the No. 15 Tennessee Volunteers. Yes, believe it or not, at one point the SEC champ wasn't automatically entered into the national title game.

Led by Jason Campbell, Tommy Tuberville and defensive coordinator Gene Chizik (that guy!), Auburn did all it could, including issuing a beatdown to the No. 8 Georgia Bulldogs, a win against the No. 5 LSU Tigers and a Knoxville trouncing of the then-No. 10 Vols. They went on to handle No. 9 Virginia Tech in the Sugar Bowl, giving them three more wins against top-10 teams than Oklahoma managed that year.

Auburn will at least remain in the history books as that year's only undefeated BCS-conference team to officially win a bowl game.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.