clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Mackey Award Watch List Features Orson Charles Of Tight End U

While this chronicle of 2011 John Mackey Award watch listers introduces the world to Georgia Bulldogs TE Charles Orson, I'm pretty sure they mean Orson Charles. Mackey consideration would certainly be an appropriate honor, given Charles' production (796 yards in his first two seasons), Aaron Murray's obvious connection with his former high school teammate and the raised expectations that await UGA's new premier pass-catcher.

Other SEC contenders: Vanderbilt's Brandon Barden, Auburn's Philip Lutzenkirchen of Marietta and Alabama's Michael Williams. UGA foe Boise State also puts Kyle Efaw in the running. No Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets made the list, and a team of scientists is expected to report back shortly as to why.

No Georgia tight end has ever won the Mackey, though the SEC does have a two-year streak going after Florida's Aaron Hernandez and Arkansas' D.J. Williams each took home the trophy. 

For more Georgia sports, visit Dawg Sports

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.