clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Aaron Murray, Jarvis Jones top team awards list

Aaron Murray and Jarvis Jones collected numerous honors at the Georgia football banquet over the weekend.

Kevin C. Cox

The Georgia Bulldogs had their season-ending banquet over the weekend, and a number of awards and honors were handed out to members of the team. Not surprisingly, quarterback Aaron Murray and linebacker Jarvis Jones came away with a huge number of honors.

Both Murray and Jones were named the Vince Dooley Most Valuable Players, and Murray was also named the offensive MVP, and permanent offensive captain along with wideout Tavarres King. He also received the Leon Farmer Award for commitment to strength and conditioning, and the coaches leadership award. Jones was named the defensive MVP along with linebacker Alec Ogletree, and was named the permanent overall captain for the 2012 team.

Safety Shawn Williams was named the permanent defensive captain, and also received the coaches leadership award and the Frank Sinkwich award for toughness. Todd Gurley and Keith Marshall were, among others, named newcomers of the year. Malcolm Mitchell won the Charley Trippi award for versatility.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.