clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 College World Series Regionals: See Complete NCAA Baseball Tournament Field

The NCAA unveiled the 2011 college baseball postseason's regions Monday afternoon -- the complete, official baseball championship bracket and schedule should be up soon here. The Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets are hosting Austin Peay, Southern Miss and the Mississippi St. Bulldogs in the Atlanta region. The Georgia Bulldogs received a surprising cross-country trip to Corvallis; the Georgia Southern Eagles were also expected to head to Atlanta, but they'll be off to Columbia, South Carolina instead.

ACC champs the Virginia Cavaliers took their first-ever No. 1 overall seed, followed in order by the SEC champion Florida Gators, the North Carolina Tar Heels, South Carolina Gamecocks, Florida St. Seminoles, Vanderbilt Commodores, Texas Longhorns and Rice Owls.

The Miami Hurricanes and N.C. State Wolfpack joined the other conference teams already locked in as hosting regions. Adding to the SEC's three already on the books: the Alabama Crimson Tide and Arkansas Razorbacks, but no LSU Tigers.

Here's a quick look at ACC regions: Navy, the St. Johns Red Storm and ECU are headed to UVA's ballpark. In Chapel Hill, Maine, James Madison and Florida International take on the Heels, while FSU hosts Alabama, Bethune-Cookman and UCF in Tallahassee. Clemson welcomes Sacred Heart, Coastal Carolina and the Connecticut Huskies.

As for the SEC, defending national champs South Carolina welcome Georgia Southern, N.C. State and Stetson. Off to Nashville, where Vandy awaits: Belmont, Troy and the Oklahoma St. Cowboys. Gainesville welcomes Manhattan, Jacksonville and Miami. 

Elsewhere around the country, Texas draws Princeton, Kent State and Texas State as Rice gets Alcorn State, the California Golden Bears and the Baylor Bears. Texas A&M says hello to Wright State, Seton Hall and the Arizona Wildcats. Oral Roberts, Dallas Baptist and the Oklahoma Sooners are headed to TCU's Fort Worth. The Arizona St. Sun Devils are up against Arkansas, New Mexico and Charlotte.

San Fransisco, UC Irvine and Fresno State join the UCLA Bruins in Los Angeles. Cal State-Fullerton gets the Illinois Fighting Illini, Kansas St. Wildcats and Stanford Cardinal in perhaps the most geographically sprawled region, other than ... the Oregon St. Beavers get Creighton and Arkansas-Little Rock in addition to UGA.

For more college baseball, browse SB Nation's list of college blogs. For more SEC, join Team Speed Kills. For more Georgia Tech, join From The Rumble Seat, and for more UGA, join Dawg Sports.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.