clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Texas Qualifying: Greg Biffle, David Ragan Take Front Row; Tony Stewart 5th, Carl Edwards 7th

Texas Motor Speedway has been traditionally referred to as a "Roush Track," and Jack Roush's four teams re-emphasized that point Friday in Sprint Cup Series qualifying for the AAA Texas 500.

Greg Biffle, a Texas winner in 2005, snarred the pole position for Sunday's race, while teammate and Unadilla, GA native David Ragan took the outside of the front row. Roush driver Matt Kenseth qualified third.

The one "Roushkateer" to fail in his bid to crack the top four is the one that is racing for the title. Point leader Carl Edwards - three times a Texas winner -  timed in seventh best. Championship rival Tony Stewart, a two-time Sprint Cup titleist and November 2006 Texas winner - will roll off from the fifth spot.

The entire top-10 consists of Biffle, Ragan, Kenseth, Paul Menard, Stewart, David Reutimann, Edwards, Brad Keselowski, Kasey Kahne, and Regan Smith.

Biffle, of course, led Ford teams with his pole-winning effort. Menard's Richard Childress Racing-prepared Chevrolet carried the flag for the Bowtie Brigade. Reutimann - whom it was announced this week would not be returning to his Michael Waltrip Racing entry - led the way for Toyota, and Brad Keselowski led the three-team Dodge contingent.

Failing to qualify for Sunday's 334-lapper were David Stremme, Texas native David Starr, and Peachtree City's Reed Sorenson, who was attempting to qualify Robby Gordon's Dodge.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.