clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Daytona 500 TV Start Time, Starting Grid, Announcers, And More

This morning, for NASCAR race fans everwhere, is almost like a child’s Christmas morning. You wake up with high hopes and dreams for a bicycle, a chemistry set, or, in this case, a Daytona 500 win for your favorite driver.

The difference between Christmas and today is that on Christmas, the opportunity is there for every kid to have those dreams fulfilled. Today, only one specific sect of race fans will end up happy, for only one man can win today’s running of the Daytona 500.

So in a little under 12 hours, who will be celebrating? What driver and team will see their dreams realized with a victory in the Great American Race, and what driver’s fans will realize that dream right along with them? And which fans will be left cruelly heartbroken with nothing more to take from today than, at best, a good points day and the fact that the sun will come up tomorrow?

Tune in to find out.

Time: 1 p.m. Eastern

TV Broadcast: FOX, beginning with their pre-race show at noon.

Broadcasters: Mike Joy, Darrell Waltrip, Larry McReynolds

Pit Reporters: Dick Berggren, Steve Byrnes, Matt Yocum, Krista Voda

Defending Champion: Jamie McMurray, No. 1 Earnhardt-Ganassi Racing Chevrolet

Pole Sitter: Dale Earnhardt Jr., No. 88 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

Starting grid

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.