clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Results From Richmond: Kyle Busch Wins The Crown Royal 400 - Once Again

For the third year in a row, Kyle Busch's No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota team has won the spring event at Richmond International Raceway. Leading 236 laps, he did so in thoroughly dominant fashion, beating teammate Denny Hamlin to the line by just under two seconds for his second win of 2011 and the 21st of his career.

The top-five was filled out by Kasey Kahne in another Toyota, Unadilla, Georgia's David Ragan, and Carl Edwards. The remainder of the top-ten was Clint Bowyer, A.J. Allmendinger, Cup champions Jimmie Johnson and Tony Stewart - both of whom rebounded from miserable starts to the night - and Brian Vickers.

The anticipated post-race fireworks between Juan Pablo Montoya and Ryan Newman following two incidents did not materialize as Montoya quickly left the race track. Newman, meanwhile, told Fox Sports that he was heading to the NASCAR hauler to find out how the situation would be handled.

Edwards remains the point leader over Johnson by nine markers. Busch sits third, 30 points back. Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Kevin Harvick round out the top-five.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.