clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gentlemen, Ladies, Bald-Headed Babies, And What Not, Let's Go Racing In Texas!

The engines have fired and it is time to get the Samsung Mobile 500 underway. Georgia's own David Ragan holds the pole position for tonight's race, but he has teammate and three-time Texas winner Carl Edwards to his outside.

Point leader Kyle Busch has never won at the Texas Motor Speedway in the Sprint Cup Series, including a cruel defeat in November 2009 when he ran out of gas just two laps for the end. Can he become the first driver to enter a race atop the standings and remain there when the smoke clears and the checkered flag waves.

Kevin Harvick has also never won at Texas as he pursues his third-straight Sprint Cup win. The last man to pull that off was Jimmie Johnson in 2007, when he won four in a row. Ironically enough, the third win in that streak came right here at the Texas Motor Speedway.

There are plenty of other storylines to watch in tonight's race, and SB Nation Atlanta will be following them all as the race rumlbes along. Let's go racing!

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.