clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Sprint All-Star Race Results: Carl Edwards Dominates For His First All-Star Win

For the first time in his career, Carl Edwards is the champion of the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race. The Roush-Fenway Racing driver dominated the evening, winning three of the four segments, and held off Kyle Busch in the final ten-lap sprint to snare his first triumph in one of NASCAR's non-point events.

David Reutimann, Tony Stewart, and Segment One winner Greg Biffle rounded out the top-five. The top-10 was filled out by Matt Kenseth, Denny Hamlin, Sprint Showdown winner David Ragan, Kevin Harvick, and Ryan Newman. Jimmie Johnson was 11th, while defending All-Star champion Kurt Busch was 13th.

In an unusually tame Sprint All-Star race, there were only two caution flags for reasons other than the end of a segment. Kasey Kahne crashed nine laps into the second segment, while Regan Smith spun later.

There was more action in the preliminary Sprint Showdown, won by Georgia's Ragan to give Jack Roush a clean sweep of the night. Ragan moved past Brad Keselowski in the closing laps to snare his first Sprint Cup win of any kind. His eighth-place finish in the All-Star Race well outclased Keselowski and Dale Earnhardt Jr., the other two men who transfered to the big show via a second-place run in the Showdown and winning the Sprint Fan Vote respectively. Earnhardt was 14th, while Keselowski had brake problems in the first segment and finished seven laps down.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.