clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cale Yarborough, Darrell Waltrip, Dale Inman, Richie Evans, And Glen Wood Voted To NASCAR Hall Of Fame

Two of the greatest drivers in NASCAR's premiere division, its king of the NASCAR Modified division, its greatest crew chief, and the owner of its longest-operating and one of the most successful race teams will been enshrined in the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Cale Yarborough, Darrell Waltrip, Dale Inman, Richie Evans, and Glen Wood have been voted into the Hall of Fame and will be formally inducted in January.

Yarborough won 83 races and was the first man to win three-consecutive championships. He recorded four Daytona 500 victories, second only to inaugural inductee Richard Petty's seven.

Waltrip won three titles and a modern-era record 84 races - a record Jeff Gordon tied this past Sunday in Pocono - and was the 1989 Daytona 500 victor.

Inman engineered 192 of Petty's 200 victories and each of his seven championships. He added an eighth title with Terry Labonte in 1984.

Evans won eight-consecutive NASCAR Modified titles, a level of domination not seen in any form of closed course auto racing. He never made it to the Sprint Cup Series because, simply put, he never wanted to.

Wood and his brother, Leonard, created the famous Wood Brothers race team that has competed since the earliest days of NASCAR and has won races in seven decades. Wood's famous No. 21 car went to victory lane in this year's Daytona 500 with Trevor Bayne.

Waltrip was so overcome with emotion that he rushed onto the stage and kissed NASCAR CEO Brian France on the cheek after France announced his induction. Inman and Wood were more subdued but clearly pleased. Yarborough is recovering from back surgery at his home in South Carolina, while Evans was fatally injured in a crash in 1985.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.