clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Michigan 2011 Qualifying Results: Kurt Busch Wins Third-Straight Pole

For the fourth-consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race, a Dodge Charger will lead the field to the green flag, and for the third-straight week it is Kurt Busch's No. 22 Dodge that will hold the top spot.

Busch snared the pole for the Heluva Good! Sour Crean DIps 400, touring the Michigan International Speedway in 38.156 seconds. He is the first driver to win the pole for three-consecutive events since former Penske driver Ryan Newman in 2007. David Reutimann was second-fastest, just .003 seconds slower than Busch, while Matt Kenseth was third. Brian Vickers and Regan Smith rounded out the top-five. Tony Stewart was sixth, followed by Greg Biffle, Kasey Kahne, Paul Menard, and Denny Hamlin.

David Ragan, who was fastest in practice, qualified 20th. Jimmie Johnson, who has never won at Michigan, was 21st. Kevin Harvick will start 22nd, directly in front of his best friend Kyle Busch, who is 24th.

Travis Kvapil was the fastest of the go-or-go-home drivers, qualifying 28th. Three drivers failed to qualify for the event, those being Tony Raines, Brian Keselowski, and Mike Skinner.

For the entire starting lineup for Sunday's event, head to

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.