clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Kansas Speedway: Kurt Busch Wins Pole For STP 400

For the second-straight week, one of Roger Penske's Dodges will lead the field to the green flag. Kurt Busch, driver of the No. 22 Dodge, snared his 13th-career pole position and his first of the 2011 season. His teammate, Brad Keselowski, grabbed the pole for last week's Coca-Cola 600.

Juan Pablo Montoya was second in the No. 42 Earnhardt-Ganassi Racing Chevrolet, followed by the Toyota trio of Joe Gibbs Racing teammates Kyle Busch and Joey Logano and Team Red Bull driver Brian Vickers.

The top-10 was filled out by Jamie McMurray, points leader Carl Edwards, Martin Truex Jr., and Richard Childress Racing teammates Paul Menard and Kevin Harvick.

None of the top-10 qualifiers have ever won at Kansas. 2003 winner Ryan Newman was the highest-qualified former victor at the track in 12th. Teammate/car owner Tony Stewart, a two-time Kansas winner, was one spot behind Newman in 13th, while last September's Kansas winner Greg Biffle was 14th.

Five-time defending series champion and 2008 Kansas Winner Jimmie Johnson was a miserable 31st.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.