clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Kansas Speedway Results: Brad Keselowski Stretches The Fuel, Wins STP 400

Brad Keselowski stretched his final tank of gas to the finish and snared his second-career NASCAR Sprint Cup victory, taking the STP 400 at the Kansas Speedway.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Denny Hamlin also stretched their fuel to finish second and third. Jeff Gordon finished best of the drivers who had to pit in the late laps, coming home fourth ahead of Carl Edwards. Matt Kenseth, Jimmie Johnson, Tony Stewart, Kurt Busch, and Greg Biffle rounded out the top-10.

Busch, Keselowski's Penske Racing teammate who won the pole and dominated the race, stumbled leaving the pits and ended up fifth of the drivers who stopped late. He led 152 laps, by far his best performance of the season.

Instead it was his teammate grabbing his second win and his first since April 2009 at Talladega. It is Penske's first win since Busch won the 2010 Coca-Cola 600, just over one year ago.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.