clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Texas Qualifying time, TV info

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series has its qualifying session for the AAA Texas 500 on Friday afternoon. Who currently holds the qualifying record at the track?

Jeff Gross

The chase for the Sprint Cup is down to its final three races, beginning with the AAA Texas 500 on Sunday. The Sprint Cup standings show that it is between two drivers, 5-time Sprint Cup champion Jimmie Johnson and five-year Sprint Cup driver Brad Keselowski. Both drivers are separated by two points in the current standings entering Sunday's race.

Qualifying for the AAA Texas 500 will take place on Friday at 4:30 p.m. after the series has its first practice of the weekend at 12:30 p.m. The qualifying session will be broadcast on ESPN2. On Saturday, the Sprint Cup series will have another practice session at 3 p.m. before Nationwide Series qualifying and race that same day.

The qualifying record at Texas Motor Speedway is held by Brian Vickers, who set the pace in 2006 with a speed of 196.325 MPH. The AAA Texas 500 race will take place on Sunday at 2 p.m., broadcast on ESPN.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.