clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jamie McMurray Wins Segment One Of Bud Shootout

Jamie McMurray has finished second, third, and second in the last three Bud Shootouts. He bettered that in segment one of tonight's event, claming the 25-lapper that was marred by a major crash on lap 10. Carl Edwards, Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson, and Greg Biffle round out the top-five. The top-10 is completed by Joey Logano, Kyle Busch, Kurt Busch, Kevin Harvick, and Clint Bowyer.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. and pole-sitter Martin Truex Jr., each of whom led several laps in the opening stint, faded to 12th and 14th by the end of the segment, respectively.

The aforementioned crash eliminated David Ragan, Michael Waltrip, and Paul Menard. Denny Hamlin, Jeff Burton, and Kasey Kahne are all off the lead lap but still on track. Matt Kenseth and Juan Pablo Montoya were both collected in the crash but remained on the lead lap.

There is a 10-minute intermission between the 25-lap segment just completed and the 50-lap second-segment that pays all the cash for winning. Teams are allowed to make any changes they would make under a normal caution flag before resuming the event.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.