clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Daytona 500 2012: Starting Grid For NASCAR's Biggest Race

Carl Edwards will lead the field to the green flag on Sunday and will be followed by Rousch Fenway Racing Teammate Greg Biffle in the No. 2 position. Tony Stewart and Matt Kenseth won the Gatorade Duel Races on Thursday and therefore will start in the No. 3 and No. 4 positions. Perennial fan favorite Dale Earnhardt Jr. will start fifth.

Jimmy Johnson will start eighth while Kevin Harvick is 13th. Jeff Gordan is 16th and veteran driver Mark Martin is 22nd. Georgia's own David Ragan will start in the middle of the pack in the 25th spot of the starting grid.

Here is a complete look at the starting lineup for the 2012 Daytona 500:

1. Carl Edwards
2. Greg Biffle
3. Tony Stewart
4. Matt Kenseth
5. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
6. Regan Smith
7. Marcos Ambrose
8. Jimmie Johnson
9. Jeff Burton
10. Elliott Sadler
11. Michael McDowell
12. Joey Logano
13. Kevin Harvick
14. Kyle Busch
15. AJ Allmendinger
16. Jeff Gordon
17. Robby Gordon
18. Ryan Newman
19. Jamie McMurray
20. Kasey Kahne
21. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
22. Mark Martin
23. Brad Keselowski
24. Dave Blaney
25. David Ragan
26. Martin Truex Jr.
27. Aric Almirola
28. Kurt Busch
29. Danica Patrick
30. Clint Bowyer
31. Denny Hamlin
32. Bobby Labonte
33. David Gilliland
34. Joe Nemechek
35. Juan Pablo Montoya
36. Casey Mears
37. Paul Menard
38. David Reutimann
39. Landon Cassill
40. Trevor Bayne
41. Tony Raines
42. David Stremme
43. Terry Labonte

For more on the big race, check out this SB Nation StoryStream. For more NASCAR, check out NASCAR Ranting & Raving.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.