clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Kansas Results: Denny Hamlin Wins STP 400

Denny Hamlin passed a dominant Martin Truex Jr. with just under 30 laps remaining in the STP 400 and held him off to score his 19th-career Sprint Cup win, the first win for Toyota at Kansas Speedway, and the second for Joe Gibbs Racing at the track.

Truex, who led an incredible 173 of the 267 circuits, made two last-ditch attempts to get by Hamlin in the third and fourth corners but was unable to make his car stick. Instead of going to victory lane for the second time in his career and the first time since June 2007, he ended up with a runner-up finish.

Hendrick Motorsports' bit for their 200th win will have to wait another week, as Jimmie Johnson led that four-car contingent with a third-place finish. Matt Kenseth and Greg Biffle rounded out the top-five finishers. Completing the top-10 were Kevin Harvick, Hendrick teammates Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Kasey Kahne, Carl Edwards, and Kyle Busch.

A spate of engine failures affected several contenders throughout the race. Local hero Clint Bowyer and polesitter A.J. Allmendinger both had their engines go sour within the race's first 100 laps. In the late stages, Jeff Gordon, Mark Martin, and Kurt Busch all dropped cylinders.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.