clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race Update: Jimmie Johnson Wins Segment One

Jimmie Johnson tracked down Kyle Busch after 14 laps and led from there to claim the opening segment of the Sprint All-Star Race. With the win, the two-time event champ will be one of the first four drivers to pit road prior to the final ten-lap segment. Busch maintained second place, ahead of Ryan Newman, Denny Hamlin, and Greg Biffle.

Two former race champions have already been in the wall. Tony Stewart, who won in 2009, slapped the wall off turn two as the defending series champion struggled with a very tight race car. Shortly before the end of the segment, teammates Kevin Harvick and Paul Menard had a moment off turn two as they raced for sixth place. Later that same lap, on the exit of four, Harvick put the bumper to Menard but it was his No. 29 Chevrolet that smacked the wall. Harvick, the 2007 winner, was less than pleased with his Richard Childress Racing counterpart.

A.J. Allmendinger, who started 22nd after transferring from the Sprint Showdown with a runner-up finish, drove to 12th-place in the opening 20 circuits. Showdown winner Dale Earnhardt Jr. was 15th, while Fan Vote honoree Bobby Labonte picked up one spot from his 23rd-place starting spot.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.