clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race Update: 2004 Winner Matt Kenseth Wins Second Segment

Matt Kenseth overhauled Denny Hamlin near the end of segment two of the Sprint All-Star Race and held on to claim the second 20-lapper of the evening. Kenseth joins segment one winner Jimmie Johnson as drivers locked into the front four positions before hitting pit road for the final 10-lap segment.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. edge passed Denny Hamlin on lap 40 to take second spot, while Marcos Ambrose and A.J. Allmendinger rounded out the top-five. Brad Keselowski, Kasey Kahne, Kyle Busch, Jeff Gordon, and Kevin Harvick completed the top-10 finishers

Defending race champion Carl Edwards became the first driver officially out of the race when his engine blew after just 26 laps.

Johnson, with his spot for the final segment's pit stop solidified, pitted a second time before segment two to start at the rear of the field and came to the green flag for that start and the restart from Edwards' explosive exit well behind the rest of the field to preserve his very fast Chevrolet.

Photographs by coka_koehler used in background montage under Creative Commons. Thank you.